Thread: Where is a good place to get lenses?

Where is a good place to get lenses?

Hi. I'm new to LF, and recently have purchased a ToyoView 4x5. I have used it a lot since purchasing, and it has only one lens setup. I was wondering if when I want a new lens (different focal length) I could get just the new glass, and screw them on in place of the lens glass I have now (ie- use the same shutter with different glass). Any help would be appreciated. I have a 150mm now, and would like to get a wide angle and telephoto someday. Thanks!!

Tim

Wherever you find them, Tim!!! I have bought several off of eBay and have been well pleased with the condition as described and the price paid in every case (guess I've been REALLY lucky from some of the tales I've heard from others). My best buys, though, have come at the local twice-a-year camera swap meet and show; last show I picked up an excellent condition Turner-Reich 6 1/4" f-6.8 triple-convertible for $20.00...and that was his asking price, not what I talked him down to. At the same show I got a 100mm Wide Field Ektar f-6.3 for $30.00 asking price. Both of these lenses were mounted in good shutters. There are good buys out there, you just have to look for them and not get impatient!

Is that a Hassleblad? Brian Vuillemenot's Avatar

Each lens has it own shutter. You can not simply interchange elements in shutters, since the screw threads have a different diameter for each lens element. There are probably other issues that would prevent this as well, such as the spacing of the glasss element from the shutter.
    Brian Vuillemenot

Before buying more equipment check the Free Articles on the View Camera web site

www.viewcamera.com

There is a lens focal length comparison chart that might be helpful

steve simmons

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...