Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quasi-Shenhao vs. Super Graphic

Quasi-Shenhao vs. Super Graphic

Hi there,

I am currently a graduate student at University of Washington, in Seattle WA. I've taken landscape photos for a while and am thinking about trying out LF photography due to the much bigger film size and the controls provided by the camera movements. I believe I am a "slow shooting" type of guy. You may want to take a look at my photos:
    http://staff.washington.edu/malix/Photos/selected.htm

Since I am wondering which 4x5 camera I should get for the first step, I am looking at either a Graflex Super Graphic, or a Kuo's from Shanghai, China. I am not sure whether you guys have heard of the Kuo's. It's kinda similar to Shen-Hao, but said to have more easy-to-handle rear standard and a little less expensive than the shen-hao. A new Kuo's would cost around $450 plus shipping from China to the States (for a package around 3kg).

As you might understand, as a student, i have only limited budget to buy camera and lenses etc. So my concern would be mainly the price, the stability, and the portability, plus sufficient movement for the type of photos that I've been taking. Personally I won't buy a camera simply because it is made of wood (I am not a big fan of wood; I prefer metal or even engineering plastic). However, it is nice to have the light weight provided by wood cameras. And I'm quite concerned about whether the front movements by Super Graphic are sufficient for landscape/flower/cityscape photos.

Your opinions are highly welcome and thanks a lot for your inputs!

I have used a Super Graphic for many years, and find that their movements, while definately limited, are sufficient for most outdoor work EXCLUDING architectrual photography. You will find these cameras fine for most landscape and flower (moderately close work) photography; you will find that the moderate rise, shift, and tilt of the front standard to be somewhat limiting for architectural work.