Thread: masking for contrast control

masking for contrast control

Hello folks,
    I'm a brazilian semi pro photographer who is involved with black and white LF photography. I own a Shen Hao HZX 45 IIA along with several lenses from 47 SA XL up to Schneider 300 mm Symmar.

My question for now refers to masking techniques for contrast control. LYNN RADEKA - I'm quite sure you have heard about him - offers his what seems to be a unique system for making several types of masking procedures including a specialized negative carrier provided with pins for registering the masks.

Does anyone know this system and can supply some feedback on its use? I'm about to purchase one standard system at the cost of US$ 300.00+ from LYNN who is a very kind person by the way.

Thanks for any input.

RWS

Rodrigo:

Get the system with the anti-newton glass. It's a great system and will allow you much control. I've been using mine for about 6 months now. I've been using CRM masks mainly for increasing local contrast. I'm taking Lynn's workshop in about 2 weeks to learn first hand what all the other masks look like. I figured it will be money well spent. Don't hesitate as the kit is well worth it! Lynn is a great guy and will help you with any questions you need answered. When you talk to him tell him Bob Sandstrom says hello.

Best of luck.

Eric Biggerstaff

Rodrigo,

I do not know this masking product, but for B&W dodge / burn masks there are very simple ways to make them that do not require pin registration, you might drop Alan Ross an email or check out the View Camera website.

By the way, are you familiar with Wolfgang Sulzer. He too is a Brazilian LF photographer who is very talented (check out www.wolfgangsulzer.com), always nice to know some "local" people (well at least in the same country anyway).

Have a great day.
    Eric Biggerstaff

www.ericbiggerstaff.com

Thanks for your prompt replies.