Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What kind of head are you using with your monorail camera?

What kind of head are you using with your monorail camera?

So I've just purchased a Toyo 810g and I'm looking for a new tripod. I currently own a Vanguard tripod with a pan/tilt head for my 4x5 monorail and would like to get something similar that can hold the extra weight of the 8x10. With the weight of the 810g being around 20lbs, it seemed like the majority of heads suited for that weight (around 25-30lbs) are predominately ball heads. I've never used a ball head before and feel like there would be nothing to hold onto when changing the position/tilting of the camera like there is with a pan/tilt head besides the actual rail of the camera which I'm not sure is the best practice or could possibly damage the rail??
    What kind of head are you using for your monorail? If you own a ball head do you have any issues with tilting the camera?

Re: What kind of head are you using with your monorail camera?

I think ball heads are totally useless with a view camera.

There are enough problems setting the camera properly when you do only one axis at a time.

With a ball head, if you get one axis right, you lose that adjustment when trying to do the other axis.

Ball heads are designed for video cameras that need to rotate all over the place.

I use a Monarch tripod with a geared head. It's geared for front/back tilt, and just locked for left/right tilt.
    I don't know if there are different sizes available. The one I have would support a small truck.
    I know you can get them with single or dual (side-by-side) legs. I have one of each.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

Foamer

For a small 4x5 field camera a quality ballhead works fine. For bigger stuff, such as the 4x5 Cambo monorail I first had, I was using a Bogen/Manfrotto 3047 head. That thing was a beast, and it was solid!

Kent in SD
    In contento ed allegria