Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: old lens vs new--actual side by side comparisons?

old lens vs new--actual side by side comparisons?

The topic of old lens coatings vs new ones came up recently in another thread. I'm curious--has anyone done an actual side by side comparison? You know, same camera pointing in the same direction, same time, same film type? Maybe an early convertible Symmar vs a modern multi-coated Symmar-L? Or something like a 203mm F7.7 Ektar compared to a Nikon 210mm M lens? I imagine that a comparison like this would be very enlightening....

Mark

I haven't done a "very old vs. new" comparison, but I did a side by side shot with a 210mm Symmar-S MC and an APO Symmar 210mm - about 15 years different in vintage. I studied a 4X5 chrome long and hard with a 22X loupe and could detect absolutely no difference in the two. It was a shot of a house from about 100 feet - not dead center on the image circle (a bit of rise). I kept the APO Symmar and sold the Symmar-S for about half what the APO Symmar was worth and a couple of years on, I still wonder why...

Abuser of God's Sunlight

by the time the symmar s was being made, lenses were really, really good. I doubt that even the best lens being made right now, tested near the axis, near the middle of the aperture range, and near the magnification ratio that the lens is optomized for, would be noticeably better.

they have made many improvements, though, in coverage, in performance off axis, at wider apertures, and at a wider range of magnifications. i think you would have seen a difference between those two lenses if you tested closer to the edge of the image circle. how much $$$, if any, the difference is worth is something only you can decide.