Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hello from Los Angeles California...Questions from a want to be newbie...

Hello from Los Angeles California...Questions from a want to be newbie...

Hello Large Format community,

I am an amateur photographer that has experience in 35mm and medium format. The large format bug bit me and now I am doing research on the subject. I am a bit overwhelm by the amount of cameras and prices for this format. I think that my budget for the camera and lens is around $400 USD.

I would like to take your guidance in regards to what should be my first LF camera and lenses. I am intrigue by LF camera movements and would like to use the camera mostly for portraits and landscapes. is there a newbies thread in the forum? I have not found it...

I am also looking for good excuses to tell my wife why I am going into LF photography and why I need the equipment; as she is already tired of ebay boxes for my other formats... .

All the advice is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Raul

Re: Hello from Los Angeles California...Questions from a want to be newbie...

Welcome aboard!
    You can certainly build a 4x5 kit with a Calumet 400 or Graphic View around your budget.
    I suggest getting a copy of Steve Simmons Using The View Camera to start.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Hi Raul,

Welcome. As a starting point, I suggest you read the articles on the home page http://www.largeformatphotography.info/ They will give you an idea of the different kinds of cameras, formats and lenses. On the forum, there are any number of threads extolling the virtues of this or that camera, metal vs. wooden, monorail vs. field, whether you should buy a cheap camera to start with or jump straight into a $3,000 investment and so on.