Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking at getting a Speed Graphic

Looking at getting a Speed Graphic

I have been kicking around the idea of getting a Speed Graphic camera and possibly shooting Polaroid with it to start. I am fairly new to Large Format although I have started shooting wet plate. I have always been interested in the older cameras and the Speed Graphic is such an iconic camera. I figured it would be a good place to start.

I have searched the forums here and found tid bits of info here and there but thought I'd ask specifically if there were certain things to look for and/or things to stay away from?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Joe

Re: Looking at getting a Speed Graphic

Familiarize yourself with what a complete camera is, and make sure you buy a complete one. Quite a few on Ebay are missing pieces..... sometimes critical pieces. Missing backs are very common.
    Thanks, but I'd rather just watch:
    Large format: http://flickr.com/michaeldarnton
    Mostly 35mm: http://flickr.com/mdarnton
    You want digital, color, etc?: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stradofear

Polaroid is discontined and the cost of the cult fanatic material is high.
    Fuji made instant film for similar purposes and it too has been discontinued.
    New55 makes some B&W film that works in polaroid holders but is chosen for it's own charm, not for all purpose photography.

Get some regular film holders and film and start shooting and developing yourself. It's easy. Could be as simple as a few cheap trays, midrange would be one of several daylight inversion tanks for several sheets at once, higher end would be a jobo.