Thread: Tailboard Camera with Dallmeyer lens and large Petzval lens anyone ID the maker

Tailboard Camera with Dallmeyer lens and large Petzval lens anyone ID the maker

Greetings to all, I am new to LF and I am researching a rescent find, if anyone out there would be kind enough to respond I would be very greatful. while on holiday in France this year I picked up a large format tailboard camera with red bellows, no makers name other than only part of a blue and white paper label below the lens. it had a JH Dallmeyer Petzval lens fitted serial number 11219, which had been adapted to fit as its wooden mounting board had been altered. it came with what I would consider is an extremely large Petzval un named lens. any information on identifying any of the items shown would be much appriciated, plus the manufacturing date of the 11219 lens would be good. The overall length of camera with lens attached is then 34 inches, it came with 3 tambour double plate cases. the way the cases are stored makes me think its a travelling camera. I hope the images have been up loaded ok.
    All the best Tim
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20160928_145004.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	91.8 KB 
ID:	156851Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20160917-WA0011.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	156852Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20160917_094803.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	79.1 KB 
ID:	156853Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20160917_094834.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	79.8 KB 
ID:	156854

Re: Tailboard Camera with Dallmeyer lens and large Petzval lens anyone ID the maker

We "deal with" cameras and lenses in two separate sections!

The camera is an early chambre de voyages/reisekamera. Later ones usually had brass L brackets in front and the space for plate holders is not found on the mass produced cameras of the 1890 - 1914 era. Measure the ground glass at the back. Tambour and slide in holders suggest it is French.