Thread: When focusing with the bellows

When focusing with the bellows

Dear All,

I am new to this forum, introducing myself last week or so. I am representing a group of total beginners in LF photography from Greece, and since none of them speak English very well they have asked me to represent them in forums, etc.

I have a question from a member of the group, which is regards to focusing in LF. It goes as follows:

"When we focus in LF photography, isn't it like zooming a bit? I mean it should have an impact on what we see on the ground glass, as we are moving the lens or film plane backwards or forwards, right?"

I told them that it doesn't work exactly like this, as there are no zoom lenses in LF photography. It is more like - so to speak - moving the whole camera closer or further away from the subject (they are used to 35mm cameras), which will result in a small "zoom" (I explained to her, that I actually mean the going closer or further away with the camera) effect, but we wouldn't call it this.

I might not have explained it very well, that's why I decided to make a post here a well. Was not sure in which category to post, as it has to do with various elements, but I felt that the lens category would be ok for this.

Also I want to try and explain to them the theory behind bellows correction, but I haven't found much. I have seen this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wprcq9HMGVs, but do not know if it's applicable to 4x5 cameras or only to 8x10.

Anybody that can point me to the right direction with an example, a link or otherwise, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you all for your time.

Regards...

Ed Freniere

Re: When focusing with the bellows

When you focus any lens on a close object, you are changing the magnification. This is not the same as zooming. Zooming means keeping the object distance constant, while changing the focal length to change magnification.

Lachlan 717