Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help understanding brass lenses

Help understanding brass lenses

Help! I'm new to wet plate photography and am really struggling understanding brass lenses and whether or not they will fit on my 8x10 wet plate camera. I'm looking for a landscape lens but confused by the descriptions I have seen on eBay.

Also, do I have to use a brass lens with a flange or can I use something else like the Nikor ones I have seen on eBay?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Help understanding brass lenses

It depends (of course) on what you're visualizing. If very soft corners are OK, any achromatic doublet (think edmonds scientific and their ilk) of about 1X the diagonal across the 8X10 plate should do nicely. 12" focal length. cobble it onto a lens board and have at it. If you dislike soft corners, the longer the focus, the bigger the center sharp area will get. And 18" achromatic meniscus doublet makes a nice 8X10 normal lens. If you buy a meniscus doublet somewhere (#2 dioptor on ebay) and cobble it onto a lens board, make a shade painted flat black to extend out past the lens to help with non image forming light hitting the glass. If you wind up with a more sophisticated lens like an early brass petzval, put the front group by itself at the rear, and voila, a landscape lens. So, no you don't have to follow any rules or even spend very much money.

Oi! Jim Galli's post should be cast in steel.
    I will add that many, many of the 'old brass lenses' are fast compared to the same focal lengths today. Image making with slow emulsions will introduce you to the original challenges. Enjoy!