Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Filters for 5x4 camera?

Filters for 5x4 camera?

Hi,
    Was wondering if anybody has any advice for the highest level contrast filter for a 5x4 camera lens? I have never used filters before, the only reason I want one is for doing infrared work with, so would be looking at the filter with the most extreme effect (red 25 up???). I am not sure of the various grades, as I have never used any and there dosnt seem to be any actual examples of photographs taken showing different filter levels (a link with this anyone???). I also have no idea how to attach it to a lens, whether the one I need should screw on or be fitted with a "grip" onto the lens, my lenses are Nikon 90mm (front element 84mm in diameter) and Linhof 210mm (FE 60mm diameter). And whilst Im here does anybody know the same questions for a Hassel 80mm lens?? Id like to experiment with 120 first before wasting money on expensive 5x4 infrared sheets!!

Thanks!
    Kubrick

Re: Filters for 5x4 camera?

An R72 would be fine. Remember, we no longer have deep infrared film so it makes no sense to go with a 'black', opaque filter.
    Someone else must help you with the size of the filters or whether they screw in because I do not have the lenses.

Hassel 80mm lens? I'm assuming you mean Hasselblad since you mention 120 film.

Hasselblad lenses take bayonet filters. The early Blad lenses took Bay 50 and the later took Bay 60 size. I once had a 500cm with 80mm Planar. I bought a Bay 60 to 67mm adapter from China so I could use screw mount filters too. Of course you can step up the 67mm to a larger size if you wish.

Thats great! Ah yes, the old kodak HIE infrared ghost?

I'm not sure if you need infrared for what you are shooting, but for extreme contrast, you can shoot line film and process it in a standard film developer where you would have a hard contrast effect, with a little bit of midtones, so maybe that would do???

Steve K