Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nikkor-SW 8/120mm viewing and focusing

Nikkor-SW 8/120mm viewing and focusing

Does anyone have experience using the Nikkor-SW 8/120mm lens on 4x5in and care to comment on the ease and comfort of viewing and focusing with f-stop 8?

I am new to large format and considering some potential gear, and so have not had an opportunity to experience and compare different combinations of focal length and aperture and their appearance on the ground glass. This lens is of interest to me, and I have read a number of opinions suggesting that f-stop 8 or 9 is very usable for viewing and focusing on longish lenses, but I wonder how it is with something like a 120mm focal length -- or if a larger aperture would really be preferred. The main use would be landscape photography, but there are many low light times when it is nice to make a photograph of the landscape.

Andrej Gregov

Re: Nikkor-SW 8/120mm viewing and focusing

For landscape shooting, F8 should be OK. But the SW8 is really targeted for 5x7 or 8x10 work given its larger image circle. And they're not particularly cheap for a first large format lens. I might suggest looking for lenses under 1lb. There are great options in the 120-135 range. You may as well try to find a F5.6 option. And avoid spending lots for your first lenses. Keep it under $500 bucks if you can, get your feet wet and then look for pricier alternatives. Probably my most used reference page on the site is the lens charts. Here's the 4x5 version, great for research. http://www.largeformatphotography.in...s/LF4x5in.html

A great first time buyer lens resource from one of the forum members.
    http://www.angusparkerphoto.com/blog...x5-view-camera