Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Issues mounting Nikkor-w 300/5.6 in Toyo field lensboard

Issues mounting Nikkor-w 300/5.6 in Toyo field lensboard

Trying to mount a Nikkor-w 300/5.6 in a Toyo field lensboard, and I'm running into two issues.

Issue 1 - What are the 4 small holes drilled into the lensboard and how do I plug them?

Issue 2 - I cannot get the lock ring to actually do its job. I'm a LF newb, so I may be doing something wrong here ... I separated the front and rear elements and put the front element down. I then put the lensboard over the front element and tried to tighten the lock ring. It tightens, but due to its shape (like a top hat), the lens is not actually secured to the lensboard.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Issues mounting Nikkor-w 300/5.6 in Toyo field lensboard

grey,

First, your lensboard is drilled to be used with a flange. The flange has threads in it and is mounted to the lensboard with screws (hence the holes and Issue #1). To mount a lens to a flange, you simply remove the rear element and screw it into the threads inside the flange.

It looks to me as if the hole for the flange is actually to big. That's what is keeping your locking ring from hitting anything You may be able to reverse the lock ring with the collar toward the lensboard and get purchase that way. If not, you may need to buy a new lensboard with a proper-size hole or, alternatively, you could get the correct flange.

Best,

Quote Originally Posted by Doremus Scudder View Post
    grey,

First, your lensboard is drilled to be used with a flange. The flange has threads in it and is mounted to the lensboard with screws (hence the holes and Issue #1). To mount a lens to a flange, you simply remove the rear element and screw it into the threads inside the flange.