Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

  1. #1

    Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    It's a cold, cold world out there and Provia seems to reflect that. Makes me miss E100G I can tell you! Do you always warm up Provia or Velvia with filtration or do you like it as is? What are your favorite metering or ratings for this film? I'll be shooting a fair amount of it this Summer in Maine, so I'd like to have some baselines from which to start my general testing. :-)

  2. #2
    Drew Wiley
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SF Bay area, CA
    Posts
    14,406

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    Some photographers like to exploit uncorrected blues in the shadows. It's really up to you. Take some representative test shots with and without filtration and look
    at the results on the lightbox. I routinely carry color temp filters for color neg film, but rarely used them for chromes. As you might recall, Kodak briefly offered
    a warmed-up version of their chrome film. Some people preferred that; I wasn't one of them.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    London
    Posts
    54

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    I find that under bright conditions it is OK but generally use an 81A filter otherwise. Fuji data sheet suggests this filter for High colour temperature situations, cloudy or open shade and 82A for morning or evening twilight scenes. I find the coolness varies with processing and exposure too, so too many variables to make a hard and fast rule. With large format sheets I haven't really noticed the coldness so maybe the built in filtration is different but then again I don't think I've shot it under conditions where it would show more.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,316

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    Provia100f? I've never had any issues with blues, certainly not with Velvia50

  5. #5
    Christopher Barrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    BERWYN, IL!
    Posts
    371

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    When I shot film for my architecture work (the first 12 years of my career) we never shot chrome outside with anything less than an 81B. Here's a simple test, go out in full sunlight and shoot a greycard, bracketing with different filtrations. Voila, problem solved.

  6. #6

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    Haha yeah I suppose a color chart test would work. I'm going to need to invest in some warming filters. In 2016 no less! Harrumph!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,316

    Re: Does Provia nearly always require an 81A?

    Listen to Christopher over me, he knows his stuff.

Similar Threads

  1. Fujichrome Provia 100F and Fuji Provia 100f
    By csxcnj in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-Dec-2013, 13:03
  2. vacuum easel design that doesn't require masks for smaller paper. How's it work?
    By vinny in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-Apr-2012, 21:12
  3. How often do Copal shutters require CLA?
    By BennehBoy in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 1-Jun-2010, 13:37
  4. Provia 400
    By Cal Mohney in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4-Apr-2006, 00:53
  5. Nikon 90 require a recessed board on a Toyo 45A?
    By Darin Boville in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9-Mar-2005, 12:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •