Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scanning Prints

Scanning Prints

I wish to start scanning my b&w prints to post on line. I am completely new to this process and would appreciate some guidance on type of scanner to produce good quality digital reproductions of my prints. All prints 12x16 are on Ilford Fiber paper.

Next question - does a scanner reproduce the (warm / cold) tone of the print or is it necessary to use software to replicate the tone?

Thank you for any suggestions.
    Peter

Re: Scanning Prints

Peter,

For that big size I would take a different approach: a good stand reproduction, a 4x5 LF camera, continuos light and a fine grain color negative film matching the color temp. of the light you intend to use.
    Maybe other forum members have other ideas, but that's the way I would go,

Cheers,

Renato

For scanning large prints, others have suggested using a good quality digital camera instead of a flatbed scanner, assuming you use a copy stand or exercise caution to get parallelism between the camera's focal plane and the Print.

I would guess that you would need to adjust the digital image a bit to try to match a cold or warm tone, regardless of the method of digital capture.

Thank you both for your suggestions.

Cheers
    Peter

This is a well-understood issue when dealing with digital capture and there are plenty of calibration tools available.

In a nutshell, we place a color calibration target inside or next to the item we are "copying". When we correct the copy to match the target, the rest of the original colors are corrected automatically.

Quote Originally Posted by RSalles View Post
    Peter,

For that big size I would take a different approach: a good stand reproduction, a 4x5 LF camera, continuos light and a fine grain color negative film matching the color temp. of the light you intend to use.

Cheers,

Renato
    Hahahahahah!
    Overkill.

Dslr

Quote Originally Posted by 12pmc View Post