Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4X5 Film for portrait...wich one ?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

4X5 Film for portrait...wich one ?

Hello,
    as a newbie, I wonder wich film BW should I buy. I use a 4X5 Wista field camera with a 210 SYMAR. My main purpose is to shoot portraiture in natural light or with one softbox.
    But I will try some landscape shooting too (reciprocity might be a problem).
    And at the end of the day film will be scan.

So I need a fine grain multipurpose film. I was thinking of kodak Tmax 400 souped in D76 stock...I also look at FOMAPAN because of price but the film seems to be "rustic".

So please let me hear about your experience, before I click on the BUY button !

Faithfully, Stephane.

Re: 4X5 Film for portrait...wich one ?

This is a question of personal choice, and expect different answers. Tmax 400 is not my personal favorite. I prefer the older type of emulsions. Tri-x has always been a favorite, but with current pricing, I find Ilford HP-5+ an excellent alternative. I don't think grain will be a problem from a scanned negative, but I have no experience here. I'm still in a wet darkroom.
    If you are worried about reciprocity in landscape shots, try Fuji Acros.
    I used D76 a lot long ago, but now use Xtol because it is much better for compensation developing.
    So there you go...one man's opinion.

4x5 has so much "stuff" that grain will not be a problem, and reciprocity won't be an issue unless you are shooting in the dark or use a big stopper. In which case, use Acros.

...TriX was my favorite with 35mm , and 6X9 negative. I might try the HP5 alternative with Xtol. Thanks for your advices.

just saw some BERGGER panchro 400 , any thoughts ?