Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    6

    Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Hi! Does anyone make profiles for negative films (kodak portra) in color quartet?

  2. #2
    Pali K Pali K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,343

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Alramin, you would need a target to make it which I don't have.

    Why do you need it?

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    6

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    I need scan negative films, make it as positive don't comfortable, I'm only start use a color quartet.

  4. #4
    Pali K Pali K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,343

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Ok no problem, I understand. If you do your preview scan as color-negative you will get many options to tweak it graphically without a profile. You should be able to select Kodak emulsion from the color settings and get very good conversion without the profile.

    If you do want to calibrate using profile, you will need to find an it8 target in Portra which I am not sure if it is available. My understanding is that most people do not use profiles for color negative. I get really good results without it using color quartet.

    Let me know if you need help using this software.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Nara, Japan
    Posts
    1,109

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    There are no targets for color negative film due to the variability inherent in the films. The settings available for color negative films in scanner software are only a starting point for tweaking each negative.

    In future, what you can do is shoot a reference for each situation, and use that as a starting point. But shooting 4x5 this way would become expensive quickly!

    Kumar

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    6

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CQ.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	73.6 KB 
ID:	144932

    "You should be able to select Kodak emulsion from the color settings"

    You talk about settings in this window?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    6

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    What mounting liquid you are recommend? I use Kami SXL 2001 and have big problem with bubbles between drum and film and quickly evaporates of this liquid.

  8. #8
    Pali K Pali K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,343

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    The setting is in the levels options but you really don't need it. I scan mine as a positive and invert in Photoshop using ColorPerfect plugin or manually. Regarding the mounting liquid, I also use Kami solution because it is easy to clean up and leaves film perfectly clean after use. Your other options are using mounting oil which I find is easier to mount and less bubbles but requires too much effort to clean afterwards. About your issues with the bubbles, make sure you are using sufficient solution. I find it is easier to pour more than what is needed and let the excess dry off after mounting the tape around the mylar sheet.

    Just like anything else, it is a learning curve that you will get better at with practice. I use the method shown in the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSB0aCTtLwY

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    6

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Looks good but I don't have mounting statiin and where I can buy such transparency envelope?

  10. #10
    Pali K Pali K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    1,343

    Re: Drumscaners: Scanmate negative profile

    Alramin - it will be very hard to do a proper mount without the station. You can mount it directly on the scanner in the non-locked position but it's going to be difficult due to limited space and no roller to add the consistent pressure. This explains why you are getting bubbles.

    For the mounting sheet, I use a product called "Grafix Clear .005 Dura-Lar Film, 9-Inch by 12-Inch, 25 Sheets" from Amazon. Just search for it and you'll see it there.

Similar Threads

  1. What software for a Scanmate?
    By Andrea Gazzoni in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-Jun-2010, 00:18
  2. Scanmate scanners
    By Bruce M. Herman in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-Jan-2009, 19:32
  3. Scanmate F8 plus
    By Eirik Berger in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-Dec-2007, 14:54
  4. Assign Profile vs Convert to Profile
    By Brian Ellis in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7-Aug-2006, 07:18
  5. Scanmate Plus clarity
    By Matt Pinnick in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-Oct-2001, 16:58

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •