Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Portland Oregon

Portland Oregon

Hi all,
    Wanted some advice on an upcoming trip to Portland. I arrive Sat Dec 12 and am there until the 18th.
    I know one person there as well as a photographer I follow (whom works at a camera shop), Zeb Andrews and Flickr. Zeb has offered to show me around and whatnot, he told me the other day he would cook something up and email me back.

Although I wanted some generic advice and pointers. I don't drive in ice/snow much being from Texas, but will have an SUV.
    Also purchased crampons, per his advice.

I plan to bring my 4x5 kit (90mm and 210mm) and Hasselblad 500C/M (80mm lens).
    May also tote my Leica M2.

Thanks in advance for the help. Kinda going there solo and blind. A little nervous, but excited to explore.

Drew Wiley

Re: Portland Oregon

Black ice on the roads can be the name of the game up there, especially crossing the bridges near downtown or driving upriver into the Gorge, which can certainly
    be worthwhile if you drive carefully. It also helps to have a waterproof darkcloth and not just personal raingear. Some big microfiber towels are also useful for
    wiping your gear dry. You'll need them.

Ah, good ideas sir. Thanks. I don't normally shoot in snow/ice.
    I have a BTZS darkcloth. I think it is somewhat waterproof.

I also have lots of camping/raingear/boots/etc. I am carrying on only, so I won't have a ton of "gear", but I will do my best to have layers and be prepared.

At night, just wipe everything down good? Tripod, cameras, lenses, etc and let them breath?
    Assuming I am not in a hostel room with 8 other people. But I can leave it all out on bed while I read until locking it up.

When I was in South America and Europe I slept with my cameras haha.

We have far more rain than snow and ice, at least in the metro area. But if you want snow, you can certainly find it. What type of subjects do you usually shoot?