Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pyrocat safety/cleanup

Pyrocat safety/cleanup

I have been using pyro now for about 6 months as a main developer. I have always worn gloves, don a long sleeve shirt/coat and try to limit exposure as highly as possible.

That being said I've started wondering if Pyro is spilled is there a proper protocol for neutralizing the dangerous parts? Is simply warm soapy water enough? I usually take a small steam cleaner to the floor after I'm done just in case anythings been spilled.

I wonder if vinegar or baking soda may deactivate any dangers. My fear is that if I were to spill on the floor and it dries, What if someone walked over it barefoot? Would dry pyro potentially be harmful?

Re: Pyrocat safety/cleanup

Yes, dried pyro could be harmful.
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”
    ― Alexander Den Heijer, Nothing you don't already know

Oh an additionally. Once the Pyro has been used to develop film, does it become any less or more dangerous? I believe I read once the developer interacts with the emulsion it becomes neutralized and that it wasn't as dangerous as straight from the bottle.

I've looked all over the internet but haven't found a satisfying answer.

Isn't Pyrocat, pyrocatechol ?
    You can always look up the MSDS using pyrocatechol or if the container has a CAS number use that to get a MSDS
    or more info on accidental spill procedures.

Found this -

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/docs/81-123/pdfs/0109.pdf

There should be an MSDS sheet available for all photographic chemicals.

In the case of Pyrocat HD Freestyle has a link to the PDF.
    My phone won't let me post the link.

I have read the MSDS but there is not such mention of a means to neutralize this substance. The spill portion of the MSDS says only to wipe up or sweep spills no additional steps are listed.

It should be the same for getting on your skin.