Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

  1. #1
    45-57-617
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland
    Posts
    643

    How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    I ask the question because apparently the driver software for the large format printers do an amount of interpolation / extrapolation.

    So.

    If I scan my neg to a specific aspect ratio and scan it to a very high resolution would I then just ask for a series of prints at say 32 inches in the long direction ?

    So lets say I have scanned a 4x5 at 4000 dpi. The image is around 21160 x 18100 pixels in size. If I ask for a 32 inch print that would be 21160 / 32 = 661 ppi. Apparently, the software will be set to 720 ppi for the printer and things adjusted accordingly.

    This takes the heat out of trying to get a specific image size for all the photos in the project.

    I'm finding it difficult to trim my scans to say 21000 x 16800 and the knowledge about the printer drivers may make my efforts obsolete.

    Hope I've made myself clear enough ...

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Jim Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Chillicothe Missouri USA
    Posts
    2,755

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    I usually scan the entire image area of the negative at the maximum practical resolution and resize in an image editor to meet present and future needs. When sure that an image will never be needed in high resolution, I scan at a lower resolution appropriate to the ultimate use.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,701

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    The printer does not resize your image to fit the resolution it prefers. It recalculates for itself what it needs to do to give you the image size you ask for, without you intervention. You are thinking too hard. :-)
    Thanks, but I'd rather just watch:
    Large format: http://flickr.com/michaeldarnton
    Mostly 35mm: http://flickr.com/mdarnton
    You want digital, color, etc?: http://www.flickr.com/photos/stradofear

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,664

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    Personally, I find it unnecessary to worry about the native resolution of print heads and resample to match that resolution, as the interpolation algorithms of printers and printer drivers do quite a nice job these days.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Petaluma, CA
    Posts
    2,090

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    Quote Originally Posted by swmcl View Post
    Apparently, the software will be set to 720 ppi for the printer and things adjusted accordingly.
    This has proven to be untrue....
    EigerStudios
    Museum Quality Drum Scanning and Printing

  6. #6
    2 Bit Hack
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    937

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    I use an HP T1300 at work. I often setup preformatted page sizes based upon what is being printed. I rarely go above 600 dpi for maps and imagery. I will go higher if the original material warrants it. If going for the highest printable resolution I scan at a high resolution let the software figure the rest. I could scan to match resolution to the print size and dpi but I have seen little use in doing so.
    Regards

    Marty

  7. #7
    Resident Heretic Bruce Watson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA, North Carolina
    Posts
    3,279

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    Quote Originally Posted by swmcl View Post
    How much do I need a consistent image size?
    Not at all.

    Bruce Watson

  8. #8
    45-57-617
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland
    Posts
    643

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    I think I'm going to scan at high resolution - so that I scan once. The scan will include all 4 sides of the film. It is possible for me to scan at a known resolution but not to completely control the scan dimensions for obvious reasons (it is impossible to select the exact same size using a mouse when the whole image is on the monitor at once). So I will print the whole image and cover over the edge bits with a known and regular matte.

    I think ...

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    1,664

    Re: How much do I need a consistent image size ?

    Why not scan as you please and then crop the part of the image that you want to print? It seems like the most obvious way to me and you don't have to matte every print.

Similar Threads

  1. Exact image size for 5x7 and wholeplate
    By Per Berntsen in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4-Feb-2010, 12:22
  2. Full Plate image size?
    By Bill_1856 in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-Apr-2009, 12:24
  3. Image size of Quickload?
    By Bill_1856 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-Jul-2008, 07:32
  4. Image circle size
    By ronald lamarsh in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9-Feb-2005, 12:30
  5. How to tell the image circle size of a lens?
    By Ron Whitaker in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-Sep-1999, 21:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •