Thread: Lens mounting questions & which lens(es) should I keep?

Lens mounting questions & which lens(es) should I keep?

Good morning all,

Apologies for the number of questions here, I'm relatively new to LF and have stuck with my one-lens kit for a year to get used to it. Now I'm looking to expand my lens range and have hit some problems.

I have a Sinar F with a Sinaron SE 135/5.6 & I have borrowed some lenses to try this weekend, namely:

Rodenstock Grandagon (NOT N) 90/6.8 in an unidentified Japanese shutter (speeds up to 1/500, f/6.8-f/45)

Schneider Super-Angulon MC 90/5.6 in a Synchro-Compur shutter

Rodenstock Geronar MC 210/6.8 in a Prontor-Press shutter

Does anyone have any opinions about these lenses, good or bad, including things to look out for? Which should I keep if all are in good working order? Should I trade my Sinaron SE 135 for one of these?

Additionally, I am having trouble mounting both the 90mm lenses (actually having trouble mounting the shutters). If I screw them to the lens board, the aperture ring is pushed against the board so I can't move it? Am I missing something? I have attached pictures of the rear of the shutters. Is there something physically missing from the back of the shutter or do I need to put some washers/shims in place? How do washers/shims affect the lens performance - I'm assuming that the front and rear elements need to remain a certain space apart for the lens to function properly, so if I stick a number of spacers in between them how do I know how many to use?

Additionally, the Super Angulon was mounted on a lens board with an 18mm extension? Why? I know some wide lenses need to be mounted on a recessed board, but why extended and to such a degree. My guess is to stop the large rear element touching the film plane when focussed to infinity?