Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New From Louisiana

New From Louisiana

Hi there,

I am a international graduate student from Louisiana State Univ. I am currently using a DSLR setup, but after watching every single video of Ben Horne, I am seriously considering switch to 4x5.
    It's always great to try something new and I can't wait to get my first LF camera. Hopefully I can find a preowned chamonix or shenhao here.

cheers,

Re: New From Louisiana

Quote Originally Posted by dengfang314 View Post
    Hi there,

I am a international graduate student from Louisiana State Univ. I am currently using a DSLR setup, but after watching every single video of Ben Horne, I am seriously considering switch to 4x5.
    It's always great to try something new and I can't wait to get my first LF camera. Hopefully I can find a preowned chamonix or shenhao here.

cheers,
    Welcome to the forum. Large format is a slower process than using a DSLR so you might want to keep your DSLR too for action shots. I used to shoot a lot of sports with a Nikon D200/D300 but I couldn't do that with my 8x10 camera. Everything has it's place.

Used Chamonix's show up from time to time but you are probably going to have to be patient. Used Shen Hao's show up more often.

Thanks Alan. I plan to shoot LF for landscapes exclusively, and keep my D800 setup for other situations.

Welcome aboard, you're in for some fun!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Welcome!

While you are waiting for the right camera to show up what focal length lens do you believe you would like to start with? What subjects do believe you will be photographing?

Does Louisiana State University have a darkroom for you to use? Ask around. Sometimes schools have ones that are little used while others have been eliminated.