Thread: Polaroid Land Camera 95 to 4x5 sheets

Polaroid Land Camera 95 to 4x5 sheets

Hello!

I'm new to medium/large format, but I've had this Polaroid Land Camera 95 on the shelf for quite some time. I've figured out the basic functions but there are some things I still need help with.

1) I think I am missing a piece to help it focus, the extra wire frame?
    2) Is there a way to modify this (easily) to take 4x5 negative sheets

Thanks!

Re: Polaroid Land Camera 95 to 4x5 sheets

I am not familure with the model 95 and can't comment on item 1. You might post photos of this camera here and other members may help you with that.

Item 2: The words "easy" and "cheap" do not often apply in LF photography . . .and rarely toat the same time. The roll-film Polaroid 110 series and the 900 camera bodies have been converted to 4x5 for years by several folks, mostly "Razzle" and Alpenhause. There are others that remanufacture old bodies into completely new cameras. Look for Sable and Littman. . these converted or re-manufactured cameras are often available on e-bay at prices generally around $1000 . . . and up.
    Drew Bedo
    www.quietlightphoto.com
    http://www.artsyhome.com/author/drew-bedo

There are only three types of mounting flanges; too big, too small and wrong thread!

95 was zone-focus, I believe - no rangefinder or other aids, as far as I know. Converting to 4x5 would either entail replacing the entire back (not a small task), or individually loading single sheets in the existing back, then changing them out in a darkroom or darkbag. Probably more trouble than it's worth. Nicely made cameras though, I have one too, and it's mostly just an ornament at this point.