Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is there a lens comparison resource for LF lenses?

Is there a lens comparison resource for LF lenses?

Hello,
    Is there a lens comparison resource / test website for LF lenses?
    A place where one can see scores in resolution, vignetting etc? I am new to LF photography and while choosing lenses to buy and looking around one can mostly hear phrases like 'I like my lens'-I don't think it enough. I can't get why a certain focal length of a particular brand and make is considered good while other length of the exactly same make considered not worth attention. Is $2000 lens that much better than a $500 one?
    In 35 mm terms http://photozone.de is a superb resource.

thanks

Re: Is there a lens comparison resource for LF lenses?

Kerry Thalman and Chris Perez have both tested lenses and posted their results on their websites. while the tests are mostly more than 10 years old there's been no new LF lenses since then.

Ian

Quote Originally Posted by IanG View Post
    Kerry Thalman and Chris Perez have both tested lenses and posted their results on their websites. while the tests are mostly more than 10 years old there's been no new LF lenses since then.

Ian
    And the test did not include all current lenses back then either. The short answer is no, there is no comprehensive test of all recent and older designs.

Photographer

Not entirely what you are asking for, but this resource is a good start: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/
    Keith Pitman

The Perez list is as complete a test as I have seen. http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html

buy and test:

like: keep

so so: keep (if you are rich)
    so so: sell (if you are poor)

Hate: sell

There is a problem although... i love my 240 g claron up to 3-5 meters in lowish contrast but i hate a sunny mid day landscape with it...

There is another problem... personal preference... use what you like donīt go on mtf or lpm tests...

cheers

rui