Thread: DeVere 504 hot smell

retrogrouchy

DeVere 504 hot smell

Hey all,

I've got a 504 (pretty old, looks like this) that I've been using for a few years and it works great, but it has a really nasty hot smell coming from the head when turned on for more than about 20 seconds. It's a mixture of burning dust (understandable given how little use it gets) and burning plastic, which worries me. It completely stinks up the darkroom with an 8-stop (256 second) exposure!

Feeling around inside the head, I couldn't feel any of the electrical connections overheating. The fan is running fine, though annoyingly loud and whiny. It has an ELC bulb (24V 250W), which I'm pretty sure is the right type for the head. The diffuser doesn't seem to be getting hot, and the smell is definitely coming from the head - it's strongest in the fan exhaust. As far as I can tell, the only things getting really hot are the bulb (obviously) and the wires directly connected to it, presumably from conducted heat.

Are the DeVere heads known to have any common overheating faults or unreliable connections?

thanks...

Re: DeVere 504 hot smell

Loud and whiny ,, the fan sounds like the culprit.. Odessey Sales has parts if its not an off the shelf item.

I'm with Bob on the fan, but also poke around to see if wire insulation (somewhere else in the head) is maybe making contact with something hot, even a warm/hot metal panel... Run it without a cover hot, and quickly turn off and look for "magic smoke"...

Tip; when vinyl wire insulation get overheated/burns, it smells really bad, and will smoke like a NASCAR fire... (The bulb leads are usually teflon or fiberglass, so look for other wires or plastic parts that might have been dislodged...)

Steve K

Vanannan

Quote Originally Posted by polyglot View Post
    Hey all,