Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: focusing for portraiture

focusing for portraiture

I'm just getting into large format black and white portraiture. I've taken a few 4x5 shots using strobes in a studio, and the results have been great! But I find that focusing sharply on the subject is either hit or miss. Either the subject is sharp or not. I'm shooting at 5.6 and 8 on my 210/5.6 for all my shots, and my strobes sync at 1/125. So my depth of field is vary narrow. And by the time I confirm focus, shut the lens, insert film, and pull dark slide, the subject could have moved slightly out of the plane of focus even if you ask them to be still. Does anyone have advice to help me? Thanks

focusing for portraiture

And keep the profile of the nose inside the outline of the face, unless you want it to look bigger.

I've done a lot of sitting 4x5 portraits and aim for f/16 as my optimal aperture, using a gridded medium Chimera Pro and 800 w/s of a Dynalite head. It still creates pleasing out of focus ears and shoulders, and if things are too sharp it is always easier to soften than the alternative...

I also use a posing table and stool, and get very "controlling" with position, at least if they don't fall into place naturally.

focusing for portraiture

As has already been said, f/5.6 and f/8 is way too open for most portraiture. I like to get down to at least f/16 with a 10" lens, even smaller with a 12" or 14".

focusing for portraiture

If you're clear setting expectations, people can hold still. When they're in position, tell them that they can't move very much. They won't.

Then, focus on their eyes (I use a 210 at f8 routinely with 1/2 sec exposures, and most are sharp). I often focus on the window reflections in their eyes.

Then, know your stuff and work quickly. Re-check focus once or twice, and certainly if you re-pose them. I usually do three poses and 12 sheets of film in about 10 minutes, max, all natural light. They're wonderful. Portraits are fun.