Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gg image in focus but resulting negative out-of-focus

Gg image in focus but resulting negative out-of-focus

Attachment 135902Attachment 135901

I’ve a Calumet CC401 4x5 cameras fitted with a Schneider Xenar f4.7 135mm.

I’m new to 4x5 work so I ’m just playing around getting use to the camera and lens.

Twice I’ve taken a picture (portrait is too formal) and on both times the resulting negative has the subject out-of-focus though the background is in focus.

However, in both cases the GG screen image was in focus (with and without using a 8x Agfa Lupe).

The camera to subject distance was around 1.5 to 2.0m.

The camera settings were 1/60s @ f7 (outside image) and 1/4s @ f8 (inside image).

I pretty certain the camera was not knocked or moved and I’m certain that the camera was not moved on its monorail.

Attached are scanned images of the (inverted) negatives.

Any observations and help welcome

Regards

Tony

Re: Gg image in focus by resulting negative out-of-focus

Tony, what's happening is that your film holders are causing your film to be on a different plane than that of your ground glass.
    Check them to see if there are any obvious problems, or if perhaps you loaded your film incorrectly. Maybe you seated the film holder improperly.
    If they are old, worn out film holders, find or borrow a known good one from a friend or store, and make a comparison.

Sometimes the groundglass+fresnel sandwich is reversed, causing it to focus on the wrong plane. Some cameras there are also clips for holding the GG and maybe the GG is installed in the wrong place? (previous owner repair issues)

Or someone may have replaced the GG/Fresnel... or removed a Fresnel... or added one. Any one of these will move the focus plane wrongly.