Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: a free, old 4x5 enlarger - should I take it?

a free, old 4x5 enlarger - should I take it?

Hi all
    I've been offered this enlarger for free, which sounds great but the owner has no idea if it works or anything else about it. I've never used an enlarger before and know nothing about repairing one but I could see myself needing one in the future.
    Can anyone identify what this is? and do you think it's worth the trip to pick it up?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WP_20150618_18_05_54_Pro.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	39.4 KB 
ID:	135642

Re: a free, old 4x5 enlarger - should I take it?

If it doesn't work... and you decide to not mess with it... just throw it in the dumpster. All you'll have lost is a little time and fuel cost.

If I'm not mistaken, the old Agfa enlargers were made my Federal. They were built like tanks, but a bit prone to hot spots in the center of the negative. You'll get a lot of "negative popping) with it, and do a lot of edge and corner burning...so be ready for that. If it doesn't come with an negative carrier, you will have to fabricate something. All else being equal, you should be able to get nice prints from it. I used to have one and it used those 212 enlarger bulbs. Should still be able to get those.
    Michael W. Graves
    Michael's Pub

If it ain't broke....don't fix it!

very true, it looks like its already halfway there I just thought I'd see if anyone recognises the thing

Regarding the negative popping: for the price, one could probably justify a small LED light panel (Artpad or comparable) to turn it into a diffusion enlarger. In the absence of heat and mass, fairly simple cabinetry (or even foamcore and tape) would serve for the adaptation.

It depends on how long the trip you have to take is.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White