Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Not new to photography, but, new to LF

Total noob

Not new to photography, but, new to LF

I've been into photography since taking photography classes back in high school. That was 1982-ish. I've been shooting 35mm film and always dreamed about moving onto the larger formats, but, the cost has always been a limiting factor. When DSLRs hit the market it took me a while to jump onto that bandwagon, but, I finally did and have had a renewed interest in photography ever since.

A week or so ago I read about the Cambo Actus, which gives the Nikon DSLR the ability to have swings and shifts like a proper view camera, but, the cost was prohibitive so I thought I could buy a broken 4X5 view camera and roll my own. The first hit on that popular auction website was for an Omega View 45E for less than $100 shipped, BIN. The seller was local, less than two miles from my house, so I contacted the seller and bought it minus the $15 shipping fee. Now I own a 4X5 view camera with two lens boards and nothing else. I still need lenses, film holders, and a few small accessories to be able to make images. There's nothing wrong with this camera that I could find, having inspected the bellows at full extension with a flashlight.

I was referred to these forums by a member of the Nikonians forums so here I am, with more questions to ask and gear to buy. I probably won't have anything to contribute, but, have the experience to search before creating a new thread.

Re: Not new to photography, but, new to LF

Welcome.

After the 30 day cooling period you'll have access to the Classified section, there you'll find what you'll need for your system.

Enjoy.
    "Sex is like maths, add the bed, subtract the clothes, divide the whoo hoo and hope you don't multiply." - Leather jacket guy

Welcome aboard!
    For what size holes are your lens boards drilled?
    Which subjects/genres are you interested in shooting?