Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need a lesson in NYC from a professional who knows Wet Plate photography with flash

Need a lesson in NYC from a professional who knows Wet Plate photography with flash

Hi,

I'm a professional photographer and I've been using a medium format with film then a digital Hasselblad camera for the past 15 years.

I would like to start shooting on Wet Plates. I just purchased an 8x10 Ansco View Camera that I'm trying to use with my flash lights.
    My first trial did not produce anything on the plate :-( so I am looking for someone who could come to my place for a training session to see what I am doing wrong.

If you are in New York City or know someone there that could help please reach out.

Raya

Re: Need a lesson in NYC from a professional who knows Wet Plate photography with fla

hello Raya

check out The Penumbra Foundation

http://www.penumbrafoundation.org/

one of their 'main guys' is Geoffrey Berliner who is also a member on here

regards
    andrew

multiplex

Re: Need a lesson in NYC from a professional who knows Wet Plate photography with fla

Quote Originally Posted by YHP View Post
    Hi,

I'm a professional photographer and I've been using a medium format with film then a digital Hasselblad camera for the past 15 years.

I would like to start shooting on Wet Plates. I just purchased an 8x10 Ansco View Camera that I'm trying to use with my flash lights.
    My first trial did not produce anything on the plate :-( so I am looking for someone who could come to my place for a training session to see what I am doing wrong.

If you are in New York City or know someone there that could help please reach out.

Raya
    hi raya

you need to replace your regular bulbs with bright UV bulbs
    wet plate isn't panchromatic, and requires different light than the modern
    stuff ( film and paper ).

good luck !
    john

Thanks Andrew!

Hi John,
    Thanks for taking the time to reply