Thread: A Future Dream - Which lens would cover a 14x14 plate

A Future Dream - Which lens would cover a 14x14 plate

Hello everyone,

This is the second time I am asking a question in this forum, you have been very helpful in the previous, thanks for that.

I have been making ambrotypes since 7 months or so, I have a Chamonix Whole Plate and a Taylor Hobson Cooke lens.
    I am pretty happy with the equipment and the way I am driving with the wet plate process.

As said, 14x14 is a future size I want to work in. And finding a lens is harder than buying a camera. So during this time, I am thinking of looking for lenses and Im lost. No mathematics works in Ulf- as calculating the diagonal of a rectangle doesn't work I guess.

Will be waiting for your replies.
    Respects and Love.

Re: A Future Dream - Which lens would cover a 14x14 plate

Of course mathematics works in ULF. You need a lens that covers 500 mm.

This link http://1drv.ms/1w0vbMD will take you to a list of links to lens catalogs. Look in them.

I have checked some catalogues and some questions rise. Is it impossible to get apertures such as 4.5 or around that with a 17 inch lens for ex?
    I just checked eBay for a Voigtlander Collinear and it is an 17inch lens with an aperture of 6.3. It says that it covers 14x17.
    Is an aperture 6.3 good for this type of a huge lens? Can any better lens be found?
    Will make search for lenses with more knowledge if i get answers to these questions.

respects

How much money do you to spend on a lens?

As for the Collinear, the seller says that http://www.ebay.com/itm/Voigtlander-...-/201051580415 is a 250 mm lens. He confuses "illuminate" with "cover" in the sense of "puts good image in the corners." There's no way it will cover 14" x 14", let alone 14" x 17". The mathematics you don't like says that a 250 mm lens that covers 500 mm at infinity must cover 90 degrees. Not possible.