Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What caused my Jobo to flood?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    grand rapids
    Posts
    3,844

    What caused my Jobo to flood?

    I've got a cpa (motor/pump/heater portion) mounted on a cooler that i've been using as a tempering bath for about 3yrs. The other day, it tripped the gfci outlet while warming up. When i lifted the unit off the cooler to check it out, nasty water with sediment began running out of the seam, any holes and spout. There was a lot in there. I removed the top cover and it appears it had filled itself with water some time ago but the looks of the gunk in there. Since I've had other gfci's go bad, I powered it up on a non-gfi circuit after it dried out. Everything works except for the motor (which i dont use). I ran it for a while and no water seems to be leaking anywhere.

    What caused this mess?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpg   image.jpg  

  2. #2
    ic-racer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5,282

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    Pictures of the setup.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    grand rapids
    Posts
    3,844

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    [QUOTE=ic-racer;1210461]Pictures of the setup.[/QUOTE
    There we go, i had to resize them.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    1,464

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    There are two sealing points on the bottom housing:
    1. on the pump shaft
    2. around the temp/protection sensor entry point.
    If water level inside the cooler was too high i could enter through #2, if #1 has failed or is leaking it could enter whenever the pump is running and water is moving through it.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    grand rapids
    Posts
    3,844

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    Thanks.
    The seal on #2 is good.
    I guess I should run it up to 100 degrees for a while to check for a shaft leak.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    1,464

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    You can run the machine with the cover off and see if water is coming in through that seal.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    grand rapids
    Posts
    3,844

    Re: What caused my Jobo to flood?

    Quote Originally Posted by koh303 View Post
    You can run the machine with the cover off and see if water is coming in through that seal.
    I did before posting here but it was set at the lowest temp setting and didn't leak anywhere. I'm hoping that hot water will make the leak appear otherwise I won't be able to trust this machine any longer.

Similar Threads

  1. Flood of 2011
    By Ed Richards in forum Image Sharing (LF) & Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-May-2011, 07:31
  2. Photographer Gordon Chapple drowns in flash flood
    By Curtis Nelson in forum Announcements
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-Sep-2008, 12:21
  3. why is my flood light studio lighting causing my prints to be off color?
    By joyce zeuschner in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-Oct-1999, 02:10

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •