Thread: Ascorlight 444

Ascorlight 444

Hello all!
    For fun, I picked up an old Ascorlight 444 unit.
    Anybody out there that can give me some info about the unit? What voltage battery it took etc?
    "I would like to see Paris before I die... Philadelphia will do..."

Re: Ascorlight 444

I briefly owned one back in the late 1970's. As I recall, the battery is 6 volts. It was several Ni-Cad's in a rectangular plastic housing. As I recall, it's a 200 watt second output.

Quote Originally Posted by SpeedGraphicMan View Post
    Hello all!
    For fun, I picked up an old Ascorlight 444 unit.
    Anybody out there that can give me some info about the unit? What voltage battery it took etc?
    I was a young engineer working on the project for Berkey Technical Corp. Berkey bought many smaller photographic manufacturing companies including the American Speedlight Corp in NYC. Berkey Tech was located in Queens County NYC.

The 444 used 4 nickel cadmium F cells wired in series. The cells were placed in a rectangular removable plastic case. The case itself was sealed. The circuit used to charge the capacitors in the unit to 475VDC was a chopped transformer coupled fly-back inverter. The circuits had all solid state transistors. The unit had a low recycle time primarily because the nicads could supply a very large peak current. There was an auto-cutoff sensor to turn off the inverter when power reached full charge. The trigger circuit excited an silicon controlled rectifier (SCR) which provided the path to discharge the capacitors through the xenon flash tube. Our chief engineer was a very bight person who studied under Dr. Harold Edgerton, (the inventor of the electronic flash) at M.I.T.