Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New and need help!

New and need help!

Hello all, I'm new to both the site and large format photography!

I've recently bought a horseman 5x4 and am currently in my final year of a BA Photography in London. Unfortunately we've only had one formal introduction to large format cameras at uni so I'm now blindly finding my way around the whole process. I have a couple of questions that I would really appreciate some help with but will try and keep them brief. My final year project is about my association with the sea from my days in the Royal Navy so I will be photographing the sea in various states, but usually in quite close proximity, i.e. from the end of a pier/ship so as to get a slightly elevated position. My problems specifically are:

1. struggling to find a black and white film that will give me high enough shutter speed at minimum F16 to not have motion blur in the waves. Currently using HP5 400 iso

2. best tilt to use so that everything from foreground to horizon is in focus (is F16 enough)

3. best film and paper to use for maximum contrast (currently using Ilford MG IV RC De Luxe Satin)

Thank you so much in anticipation!
    Jo

Re: New and need help!

1. 400 ISO is as far as I know the fastest speed in which sheet film comes. You can push it by one or two stops (expose for 800 or 1600ISO and then develop longer; there are guidelines for this, e.g. in the massive film development chart - Google it), but it will result in increased contrast and grain. If this is a problem, only you can decide.