Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Affordable Jobo Source

Affordable Jobo Source

Hi,

I am relatively new to LF photography, but have been shooting film for quite some time. When I break from the convenience of the digital world nowadays, I do so with a 4x5 in hand. So far I have developed using trays and hangars and don't really enjoy either (possibly due to my terrible technique). Anyhow, everywhere I read, I hear the jobo tube style tanks are the way to go (think 3010 etc.). I don't need a large one, but I am in the market for a used tank at non ebay prices, which right now are around $500. Does anyone know a used source where I could acquire one around half the ebay price? Please feel free to let me know if I am dreaming

Oh, and I tried a search on here and the only thing I gathered is that it's not worth trying to make one.

Thank you all in advance for your replies.

Re: Affordable Jobo Source

When you have been a member for 30 days you will have access to the For Sale / Wanted section here. 3010's come up occasionally, often at prices less than you'll see on eBay. $250 may be a bit optimistic, but with patience it should be possible to find one in good condition for $300-400.

Andrej Gregov

Remember, you need a foot pump as well. I rarely see a 3010 + a foot pump for under $400. Btw, do you have a Jobo processor? If not, the tank will not be easy to use. For 35mm, people often use the Jobo tanks for hand adgitatation. The 3010 can't practivally be used that way.

Lachlan 717

Quote Originally Posted by agregov View Post
    Remember, you need a foot pump as well. .
    You DO NOT need a foot pump. In fact, the pump can be somewhat dangerous to use.

There are several ways to remove the lid from these tanks that do not require a pump. Here is a video on one method.
    Lachlan.

You miss 100% of the shots you never take. -- Wayne Gretzky

Quote Originally Posted by agregov View Post