Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Howdy from Cypress, Texas

Red face Howdy from Cypress, Texas

Hello all you fine gents and ladies. My name is Austin.

Excited to be around the forums and start my plunge into large format in the not-so-distant future. I am looking at a 4x5 Chamonix, along with a 135mm or 150mm lens to start.

As for me. I am self taught. Well my dad has taught me a lot over the years. Started about 4-5 years ago with a Hasselblad 500C/M (well actually bought a Holga first!), then dove in and bought a Leica M2, then a Rollei 3.5F, and here we are. Shoot mostly B/W, but enjoy color as well. Try and develop all my own B/W and as of the past year started printing my own work. The lab in Houston has been very kind in letting me sit in printing sessions and learning. Now I can do my own printing, still have to pop out and ask a question every now and then.

I bought a house last year, have two cats, Sudek and Cartier, was in a long time relationship that ended earlier this year, and spend time reading, gaming, or in my "art" room.

Other than that, I have lived most my life as an introvert, but a ton of great changes this year, so I am fairly active in my church, community work, networking events for my industry (career wise), etc etc. Positive person, very humble, overly nice, hard worker, honest, and raised with manners.

There you go, now you know a bit (and more) about me. Hope to stick around for a while and use the search bar a lot as I build a set.

Re: Howdy from Cypress, Texas

Nice to meet you Austin. Welcome to the forum!

Welcome, Austin. You won't go wrong with the Chamonix. Several members here use one.

Welcome! Normally I don't post in the Intro Forum, but with a daughter in Austin (no idea how far that is from Cypress, distances in Texas tend towards the ridiculous), two cats, and the interest in large format, figured we had too much in common not to say hello!

Welcome, Austin!