Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

  1. #1
    bob carnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario,
    Posts
    4,591

    Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    I am currently working with a Nu Ark 261k for my alt work..

    I want to biggie size my workflow... ie 30 x 40 inch alt prints.

    Any suggestions on exposing units and vacuum units from those doing this type of work.

    links to hardware , new units only would be appreciated.

    thanks

    Bob

  2. #2

    Re: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    I don't think they make the 40-1K anymore Bob. That's the big brother to the 26-1K.

    M&R does make a flip-top exposure unit that may work, borderline big enough for you, but I hesitate to even look at the price:

    http://www.mrprint.com/en/Screen%20E...t%20Platemaker

    That will take special wiring, either a 30 or 50 amp circuit probably.

    Most people don't like the flip-top products because it is impossible to do any dodge/burning to the image.

    I had a 40-1K until very recently, and I felt it was a great printer. Just too big for my new place.

    If I were to go big again, I'd probably build a FL lamp unit or track down a used graphics exposure unit, because new products are really not available.

    Olec makes good larger products:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/OLEC-Exposur...item1c470c69e7

    Not sure of the specs on that one, looks like a 1250W lamp, so it's going to take long exposures to get where you need to go.

    Here is their website:

    http://www.fabcon.com/systems-lights-integrators

    In the higher wattage packages, these are often done as an independent light source and vacuum frame, so you can see the light sources there.

    You will need to inquire about the spectral distribution of the products to make sure you aren't missing the target, and thus wasting energy and time on a less-than-ideal lamp for your sensitizer.


    ---Michael

  3. #3
    bob carnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario,
    Posts
    4,591

    Re: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    Thanks for the links Michael- I am trying to keep to single phase 15 - 20 amp units as my building will not handle three phase and I have an upper limit of amps that I am dealing with.

    I am not concerned about price as my client will purchase through work I do for him.... I like the idea of a hanging lamp with a independent vacuum frame... as I also have limits on size and weight
    I can get into my new space... We had to completely dismantle a Durst Lambda to single pieces and rebuild from scratch.. so there are physical limits as well.

  4. #4

    Re: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    Bob,

    These should be single phase. They just will be higher amperage. No need for three phase on something like this. They are probably 240 volt, however. Hot to to hot rather than hot to neutral. Your building should be able to handle that. They are like a stove in load, so no big deal really.

    I think that you need to be in the 3000W range to get decent exposure times for something that large, but yo umay be able to get by with a 1000W ot 1250W unit (the same wattage as your 26-1K).

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,055

    Re: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    Bob,
    If 30x36 will do, check out this:
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/263036...ht-Table-30x36

    If you want to go larger than 30x36, perhaps you could purchase the bulbs and build your own unit
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/263036...placement-Bulb

    You might also consider contacting Edwards Engineering. They state they can custom build you a unit.
    http://www.eepjon.com/

  6. #6
    Angus Parker angusparker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, USA
    Posts
    870

    Re: Exposing unit for Pt Pd and Gum

    Quote Originally Posted by John Bowen View Post
    Bob,
    If 30x36 will do, check out this:
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/263036...ht-Table-30x36

    If you want to go larger than 30x36, perhaps you could purchase the bulbs and build your own unit
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/263036...placement-Bulb

    You might also consider contacting Edwards Engineering. They state they can custom build you a unit.
    http://www.eepjon.com/
    I have the smaller version of this Arista unit and it works very well, pretty reasonable to. Doesn't get hot with the metal case acting as a heat sink. No dodging and burning though but since I go analog-digital-analog I can sort out all that in the digital negative and photoshop.

Similar Threads

  1. Pre-exposing film?
    By Jehu in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17-Aug-2009, 16:16
  2. Exposing Tri-X
    By Salvatore Formisano in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1-Jun-2009, 00:46
  3. Exposing with a bright sky
    By blevblev in forum Style & Technique
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5-Mar-2008, 22:23
  4. Exposing AZO
    By joe freeman in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-Apr-2002, 00:35

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •