Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for a photo book

Recommendations for a photo book

Hi everyone,

I am playing with the idea of putting 40-50 images from my recent Tibet trip into a book. I have no experience in publishing a book. A few people have mentioned Blurb. I bought a Blurb book from a forum member here a few years ago and was disappointed by the quality of its printing. I have heard that Blurb is better now.

This book will be a very small run like 30-50 copies, but I want the printing quality of the images give its readers an enjoyable experience, like that of looking at contact prints. Is it possible to achieve this by scanning the negatives and digital printing?

Or is it better to find a book binder and use only 4x5 contact prints for such a book? Or some contact prints and some digital prints? Cost issues?

Where do I get started?

Thanks.

Re: Recommendations for a photo book

I still would recommend Blurb book. My friends and I must have altogether made over 100 Blurb books (one of my groups of photo friends are in fact veterans of a Stanford continued ed class in photo book making using Blurb), both in colors and B&W. If you are careful with your colorspace, the output should be fine. You can also order sample copies. All other options are $$$, especially for tiny run.

Hi Hugo,

Though my experience with publishing is very limited, from what I've heard Bobs Books out of the UK is near the top of the list. I'll be receiving a sample in a few weeks for a project I'm funding through Kickstarter. If you're interested I'll share my experience. So far their support has been very good, and they've offered significant discounts off of a similar run quantity as you've suggested, including shipping discounts.