Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Oklahoma!

Hello from Oklahoma!

Hello! My name is Mat Miller, I am a photographer & Videographer in Oklahoma City. Ive used Large format only a handful of times. I owned a Graflex until last year when it was stolen. I was just getting into Large format last summer until my camera was gone. So I am interested in getting into it again but I need a bit of help finding the right type of equipment. I am hoping the community could help me in this. Im excited to see what other discuss here and look forward to being apart of this community.

Thank you, have a wonderful day!

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

Re: Hello from Oklahoma!

Welcome to the forum, Mat! In 30 days, you'll be able to access the For Sale section of the forum. Every once in a while a member sells a Graflex, and usually they are in pretty good shape. There are also other field/press cameras, such as Toyo. (Toyo bought the Graflex stuff when they finally shut down, and they actually supply some parts for Graflex cameras.)

Was your Graflex giving you what you were looking for in a camera, or did you want more movements?
    "It's the way to educate your eyes. Stare. Pry, listen, eavesdrop. Die knowing something. You are not here long." - Walker Evans

Actually, I was looking into trying to get a Toyo-Field Camera, I am very interested in those. The Graflex was great but, you nailed it, it seemed a bit limited on movement. But here is the kicker, I am trying to find a camera that I can shoot instant film on, this is a realm I know very little of. I'm not sure if the Toyo's have something like that. I am only familiar with Fuji's FP film. which I used a lot last year. It was great doing portraits with it and giving them to friends. It was very different for what they were used to.

The Fujifilm PA-145 and Polaroid 405 backs fit just fine in the Toyo. They both take the FP-100C film, which is in current production from Fujifilm.