Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello From a student photo major -- Indianapolis

Hello From a student photo major -- Indianapolis

Hi,

Just wanted to post here to let everyone know that I am a really new newbie. I am a non-degree undergraduate photography major at Indiana University. My advisor has suggested that I use large format for my senior project. So, I have a new/used Cambo SC with a Fuji CM Fujinon-W 4X5 180mm f/5.6 Lens with Copal 1. I am just beginning to learn my way around the camera. So far I think I am making progress but cannot figure out how to remove the dark slides from my new/ used Riteway film backs. I am sure there is a better place for me to post that question. This is a wonderful resource for students. Thanks to all! I am sure you will be hearing a lot from me!

Cheers,
    Martha

Re: Hello From a student photo major -- Indianapolis

Hi Martha, and welcome! The dark slides should just slide out... Once the holder is inserted into the back of the camera, and the lens' shutter is closed, it's safe to pull the slide out. Make sure the little black L pin above the tab is out of the way before pulling the slide. Make the exposure, and reinsert the slide with black tab facing out.

Octogenarian

Martha,

There is a little button near the top of the Rightway film holder.

While pushing it inward, slide the darkslide out to load film.

When the film holder is inserted,the button is depressed automatically when it contacts the camera.

Oh, wow! That was it, the little button! Thanks Octogenarianm you rock!!

hey...what's your senior project?

Quote Originally Posted by martha View Post
    Oh, wow! That was it, the little button! Thanks Octogenarianm you rock!!
    Hi Martha, and welcome aboard.

Since you have the little button, it means you also have the numbering dials at the bottom of the holder.

When you open the loading gate you can adjust these to whatever numbers you want.