Thread: Darkroom Beginner - Omega D3 - Deal or not?

Darkroom Beginner - Omega D3 - Deal or not?

Hi!

I am a total newbie. Fairly knowledgable on the digital side of things, but am looking to feed the nostalgia bug in me. I've been looking for a good deal on an enlarger so that I can print and develop at home. I have found a photographer closing his studio willing to sell me a load of stuff to get me started. He didn't list specifics on all the other supplies, just said trays, tanks, changing bags etc., but he did say his enlarger was an Omega D3. He is asking $125 for the whole lot. Says everything is in great condition. Any info you can give me about the enlarger would be great. I don't want to buy a model that won't be beneficial to me. I haven't bought an SLR yet, still looking.

Thanks so much for your input

Krista

Re: Darkroom Beginner - Omega D3 - Deal or not?

In addition to the expertise here, be sure to join the "Ask Harry!" help forum at this site:

http://www.classic-enlargers.com/cgi...?board=general

You can search for threads dedicated to the Omega enlarger series, such as the D3.

Plus Harry is great at answering beginning questions about Omega enlargers.

Krista,
    I have an Omega D3 and picked it up used...20 years ago. You will need a lens, cones and neg carriers for each format you intend to enlarge. I have a dicro head on mine and use it for B/W printing. If the seller includes the essentials...its a smoking deal...IMO.

2 Bit Hack

Yes, if you are getting lenses, neg carriers, mounting plates, and any other necessary attachments for your format(s), the price seems fair. But the question is does it seem fair to you. Some are more willing to turn loose of cash than others. If you can check out the gear before purchasing.