Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Are Film Price Differences Worth The Money?

Are Film Price Differences Worth The Money?

I am a newbie in LF photography as the content of this post will soon make evident. While I was writing another post regarding BTSZ I was looking at film prices and was wondering if the price difference between films is worth the money. I have not shot most of these films in LF so I would love to know why someone might spend significantly more money on one film than the other. I understand that some of it depends on the volume of film consumed. If I shoot 5 sheets a month paying 4 times the price for the more expensive film doesn't really make any difference.

Attached is the spreadsheet I made using Freestyle prices as of today 4/28/14

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Price film.JPG 
Views:	224 
Size:	42.4 KB 
ID:	114494

Re: Are Film Price Differences Worth The Money?

I think Adox makes Arista so it should be kind of like Agfa. Could be wrong.

The film is cheap. The time and effort you make to create the photo is expensive and irreplaceable. Pick a film you like and learn how to use it.

Buy a couple of boxes of Arista and a couple of boxes of Ilford (or Kodak or Fuji) and give them a try. You will get an idea of what you like. You might like the cheaper film. Or not.

Quote Originally Posted by jbenedict View Post
    I think Adox makes Arista so it should be kind of like Agfa. Could be wrong.

The film is cheap. The time and effort you make to create the photo is expensive and irreplaceable. Pick a film you like and learn how to use it.

Buy a couple of boxes of Arista and a couple of boxes of Ilford (or Kodak or Fuji) and give them a try. You will get an idea of what you like. You might like the cheaper film. Or not.
    Foma Makes Arista.