Page 26 of 26 FirstFirst ... 16242526
Results 251 to 257 of 257

Thread: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

  1. #251

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    North Narrabeen NSW Australia
    Posts
    51

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    Hi all, Sorry to throw the topic off from the most recent threads, but could I get your thoughts on what width Kami tape (1/2 or 1") is better for a Howtek 4500? Thanks

  2. #252

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    I like 1/2" for taping the top edge of the film to the drum and 1" to tape the perimeter of the overlay. And depending on how it all goes down, you often have to put an extra layer of tape over parts of the overlay, mostly due to Kami fluid seeping out as you pull the mylar tight, even after wiping it down before the tape. You want to check to make sure that there are no little tunnels where fluid can escape. What you really don't want to have happen is for the whole thing to come undone while the drum is spinning.

  3. #253

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    North Narrabeen NSW Australia
    Posts
    51

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    Quote Originally Posted by Sasquatchian View Post
    I like 1/2" for taping the top edge of the film to the drum and 1" to tape the perimeter of the overlay. And depending on how it all goes down, you often have to put an extra layer of tape over parts of the overlay, mostly due to Kami fluid seeping out as you pull the mylar tight, even after wiping it down before the tape. You want to check to make sure that there are no little tunnels where fluid can escape. What you really don't want to have happen is for the whole thing to come undone while the drum is spinning.
    Thanks mate, regards dean

  4. #254

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    7

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    Quote Originally Posted by brbo View Post
    Can fellow DPL users share experience on max. horizontal dimension (in direction of drum rotation) of scans with DPL?

    Whenever I scan anything that is longer than 10.992px (so that would be like 2.73" at 4000dpi, 5.46" at 2000dpi, etc.) I get a dpl32 error with "Buffer Transfer - Length Too Big" message. This seems to be a DPL limitation and not a scanner hardware limitation. I successfully completed a narrow band of 8" in horizontal direction at 4000dpi in Silverfast. I know that scanning the whole 8x10" area would present another problem (file too big), but still, this limit is not present in Silverfast...

    I'm using Howtek 4500 with DPL 8.1 on Windows XP (32bit). I've send a question about this to Evan at Aztek, but would like to hear what your experience is on that matter while waiting for his thoughts.
    Well, after a few days of swapping various SCSI cards, drivers, etc. I located the problem. It was the wnaspi32.dll file in C:\Windows\system32\ that was a problem. I needed to stop and delete Windows Service named "ScsiAccess" (otherwise I couldn't delete the file) then delete the wnaspi32.dll and then reinstall the correct version of the file. I used the file from C:\Program Files\Aztek\Digital PhotoLab 7.8\Devices\SCSI_support\.

    The wrong wnaspi32.dll file was probably installed by a CD burner software (the author of the file was "NexiTech, Inc").

    Now I can scan up to 5.2" in length at 4000dpi in DPL. Still interesting Silverfast can scan 8.1" in length.

  5. #255

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    100

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    Nice!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #256

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    32

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    I was wondering if anyone could help me with my Howtek 6500 Scanmaster. I acquired the scanner with no software dongle, computer, or SCSI cable. I got an old PC and got that to communicate with the scanner using a demo version of Silverfast for Win XP. The scanner worked fine for a few days of tests. Now the scanner fails at the lamp calibration stage. I cannot get the lamps to turn on using the "test" menu functions. I've tried replacing the bulbs and that does not remedy the problem.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? Please let me know. I greatly appreciate any help you can provide!

  7. #257

    Re: DPL users/owners of Howtek/Aztek scanners

    You may be at a point where you need to take the cover off the scanner and remove all the internal boards and clean all the contacts with DeOxit, then re-insert each board multiple times to make sure each one has good contact everywhere, then try scanning again. Do the lamps come on at all during the period of time before calibration fail? There may be bad electrical contacts there too, and don't rule out bad bulbs even when new. I've seen a lot of those over the years. Those are 8v 20w bulbs so you probably don't have a independent power supply suitable laying around. Then call Evan at Aztek.

Similar Threads

  1. Eversmart vs drum scanners & Aztek plateau
    By 8x10 user in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-Sep-2017, 14:25

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •