Thread: Need Help on Entry level info about enlarges

Need Help on Entry level info about enlarges

Would like to set up my own dark room equipped with enlarger. I’m new to film photography and have no experience with dark room. Make things worse - I live in a very remote area. Please recommend any sources online or literature which will help to understand how to choose an enlarger how they work etc.. Greatly appreciate any help.

Re: Need Help on Entry level info about enlarges

And your location, as some brands are more available in the US and others in Europe. Also, whether for b/w or both b/w and color.

That said, here are a couple of reference sites to get you started:
    http://www.classic-enlargers.com/
    http://www3.telus.net/drkrm/equip.htm

Thank you very Much!!!
    I'm going to work with 6x6 film, would like to start with 8x10 prints and move on to larger prints later (16x20 and up). I'm working with wet plates right now (8x10 and contact printing on collodion chloride paper), and was hoping I'd be able to get an enlarger I can use with my wet plates (which could be5x7) as well if it's possible, if not than it's just 6x6 film. By the way how difficult is it to get enlarger for 8x10 film (and/or) glass plates? Once again Thank you.

Oh and sorry forgot to mention I'm on the east coast. and was looking in to buying Beseler 45V XL for B&W prints, is it a good choice?

Well, it is one of the better choices. Maybe I`d say a bit of overkill, but better to buy right for the first time, specially if as it looks to be, you like traditional "wet" photography.

So did I understand correctly? I will be able to use my 5x7 plates with 45V XL?

The 45V is a 4x5" enlarger, which you can use up to 8x10" with a dedicated head and conversion parts. Same with the cheaper 45MX (?) versions, also made by Beseler. So I think there shouldn`t be a problem for your 5x7" plates, but you`ll need to made somekind of homemade adapter to hold the plate in place.