Thread: Polarizers and Grad ND Filters for 4x5?

Polarizers and Grad ND Filters for 4x5?

Hi, I am just starting out in 4x5 and am looking to start a filter collection. I currently have a 90mm Super Angulon and don't think I'll go any wider then that. Will the cokin P series filter holder be alright on this lens? As for filters I plan on getting a linear polarizer and a 3 stop hard edged grad ND filter for now, and expand that over time. As for the brand I have been looking at HiTech as I have heard that they are neutral unlike the Cokin filters and are decent while still being fairly cheap. What I have not been able to find is a linear polarizer by HiTech. Will the cokin polarizer work, or does that also have a color cast? Also, as I am low on cash and so far have bought all my equipment used, is there any place that will sell good used filters, and are they worth it? Thanks.

I don't know the answers to most of your questions but with respect to used filters, KEH sells some used filters and they're a very reputable company.
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.

I have used a cokin P system with the Super Angulon. From what I remember I had to make sure the holder was turned just right or it would get in the way, especially with movements. I think you can easily cut the holder down, though I haven't tried this. I use a 77mm hoya polarizer most of the time. I own a cokin, but I honestly haven't used it. The one Hitech grad (.6) that I have is very nice, though I haven't had a noticable problem with the cokin that I have as well.

I will also second KEH as a good source for used equipment. They grade very fairly and you can always return it you do not agree.