Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HABS/HAER Photography-new site

HABS/HAER Photography-new site

I've finally managed to set foot into the late-20th century, and now have a web presence. I'm primarily a historian, though I also do quite a lot of large-format photography, and thus I do both parts of the Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record (HABS/HAER) process. It is a lot of fun, and I've finally done up a web site for that part of my work. I'm quite new to working in the web environment (yes, I made sure to fill out the paperwork for my internet domain in a fountain pen!), and would love to hear any comments or suggestions on the site.

http://bgharvey.com/

Many thanks in advance!

Bruce

Re: HABS/HAER Photography-new site

Bruce,
    Nice work and nice site. Simple and clean is always good. It's always hard to find website designs and templates that allow for a bit of text. I think the people interested in these kinds of projects (hiring a HABS, HAER, HALS photographer or architectural historians) like to see the photos + know the history about the resources. We spend a long time finding the best locations to tell the story about a building or bridge or landscape and then often can't explain why we chose that particular angle in the caption because the websites are always image biased.

As for "suggestions", since you asked. Your work is strong and perfectly appropriate for a historic survey but websites are a bit different, here's one guy's opinion. Take it or leave it.