Thread: Fiber Prints from Digital Files

Fiber Prints from Digital Files

I've been making a living as a photographer for over 20 years (first as a Combat Photographer in the Air Force, and now as a medical photgrapher for the past 11 years). The first camera I ever shot was an old Kodak monorail, and I've been in love with large format ever since. I have been producing Fine Art images with my only personally owned film-based camera (an old Graflex Super-Speed Graphic) for many years, and relish my time in the print room.

As a professional, I was introduced to digital imaging during Operation Desert Shield/ Desert Storm in 1990, with very low-res Sony Mavica. Digital imaging has come a long way since those early days, and I've been through several computers, digital cameras, printers (both Dye Sublimation and ink jet), and versions of Photoshop. The technology has steadily improved to the point that digital rivals film in many ways. However, the quality of digital prints still cant compare to a well-done fiber print. This sad fact was brought into sharp focus recently when I decided to make my first 16 bit scans of some of my favorite 4x5 negatives. This was the first time in many years that I have tried to digitize my Fine Art images, as the technology simply could'nt do justice to the images in the past. Although some of these negatives can be a real challenge in the darkroom, it was fairly easy to correct the negative's shortcomings in Photoshop CS to produce images that surpass even my best darkroom efforts. The ability to manipulate the tonal scale of a 400 MB image is mindboggling. But, neither my inkjet, nor my aging dye sub printer can bring those tones to life.