Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Starting Out in LF

Starting Out in LF

Howdy! I just found my way into an Omega 45E with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 210mm f6.1 lens. I'm new to this, though accustomed to medium and small formats for several years now. My biggest concern has been whether or not to invest in a daylight tank for film, or whether to go with trays. I'm used to developing rolls in tanks, but I am pretty comfortable in the dark. Thoughts?

Side note: excited to be entering into the larger world. Thanks for having me here.

Re: Starting Out in LF

Hi, and welcome aboard.

I generally prefer daylight tanks for 4x5, although I've used trays occasionally. I use trays for 8x10.

There are several different daylight tanks available for 4x5, differing in both type and detail.
    I don't know of any that are perfect.

I prefer the squarish tanks that hold the film relatively flat, vertically, as opposed to those that
    try to twist it around in a circle.

I expect you'll get a lot of different opinions.
    Everybody tends to promote the technique with which they achieve the best success.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

If you're shooting B&W give trays a try first. You may like it! Don't spend money on more gear unless you have too (you'll spend enough of that on film, paper and chemicals)
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Quote Originally Posted by Trenchleton View Post
    Howdy! I just found my way into an Omega 45E with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 210mm f6.1 lens. I'm new to this, though accustomed to medium and small formats for several years now. My biggest concern has been whether or not to invest in a daylight tank for film, or whether to go with trays. I'm used to developing rolls in tanks, but I am pretty comfortable in the dark. Thoughts?