Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens advice sought...

Ian Arthur

Lens advice sought...

I stopped using my 5x4 about 12 years ago, but last year I started to use it again as I've really had my fill of digital - and I'm a full-time photographer...! Besides landscapes I've started to shoot some portraits but I don't like them. My Schneider lens is too sharp, too clinical and too precise. Then I had a biblical moment when I realised that there was other lenses besides modern lenses - which is when i discovered that those lovely old portraits with lots of edge aberrations were taken with Petzval type lenses.

So digging deeper I learnt that after the Petzval and Achromat lenses evolved, and behind them came the anastigmatic lenses. And then I learnt how expensive and rare Petzval-type lenses are. Alas, in the UK we're not allowed to sell blood, organs or family members, so the quest is to find something affordable: but what....?

So, my first question is: Usually antique camera dealers list lenses as anastigmatic or non-anastigmatic, so is a Peztval type lens a non-anastigmatic lens?

My second question is: In looking to buy an "affordable" lens in order to recreate "some" of those old aberrations, would I be right that I should be looking for a non-anastigmatic lens, or an non-anastigmatic lens maybe before the 1930's, and before lenses became coated?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: Lens advice sought...

Did you ever look at the work done by Monte Zucker, Tibor Horvath or Schmactenburg? They all used the Imagon for portraits. On 45 that would be the 250mm.

I should have mentioned. Tibor Horvath, the photographer from Toronto, not the one from AU. Also this link will take you to some of Monte's work:

http://www.montezucker.com/newhorizon.html