Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Impressionist photographer?

Impressionist photographer?

I don't get to see many exhibitions so I was delighted to have the opportunity to attend the exhibition entitled Impressionists on the Water at The Legion of Honor in Lincoln Park is San Francisco today. I really enjoy this stuff by Monet and his contemporaries, and I was impressed by the sheer number of truly classic examples of the genre, but was astounded to find two amazing photographs---albumin silver prints actually--- by Gustave Le Gray! The Brig (1856) and The Breeching Wave (1857)
    I'm no expert on albumin silver, nor the pictorial genre but it struck me that what I was seeing this afternoon, that whatever it was, was done right! Incredibly beautiful yet intriguingly so. How the sun light was captured glowing on the water is memorable.
    The exhibition is comprised of painting and drawings and etchings and lithography with a few wooden models of the watercraft of the time, but only two photographs. It is certainly well worth seeing even without the photographs, it really is, but the two Le Gray pieces were an unexpected, totally delightful surprise!

http://impressionists.famsf.org/

The exhibition runs through October 13th.
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

Drew Wiley

Re: Impressionist photographer?

It does sound interesting, John... I am esp fond of the great impressionist painters... but don't know if I'll have time to get over there. Getting ready for a trip or two. And most of my days off are spent in training, keeping in shape with a big pack, and bagging some nice 8x10 negs in the process. I'm over in Marin quite a bit, which seems to have it all, and is quick for me to access from home. Hope you mend and can get back to your own excursions into the hills again. My wife works in Frisco,